Chakras: A Beginner’s Guide

Chakras are energy systems that can be very complicated to understand. If you are not sure what we are talking about, there is no need to fret.

There are many others like you who have very limited knowledge about chakras; hence, this beginner’s guide.

What is a Chakra?

In Sanskrit, Chakra means “wheel”.  They refer to various energy points in the human body. These energy points should maintain a perfect alignment to one another.

Each one should also remain open to the energy point above and below it to achieve harmony and good health.

The 7 Chakras of the Human Body

There are 7 main energy points – or chakras – in the human body. They run all the way from the top of the head to the tip of the spine where the tailbone is. Each of these chakras or energy points comes with its own colour and what the energy means.

1. Crown

The white or violet Crown chakra is at the very top of the human head. This energy provides enlightenment, allowing us to make connections with our spirituality and purpose in life. Blockage in this chakra can lead to stubbornness, scepticism, and narrow-mindedness.

2. Third Eye

This is a chakra that’s coloured indigo. Found on the forehead and between the eyes, it denotes imagination and intuition. Problems in this energy point can manifest as hearing problems, headaches, vision problems, and poor concentration or focus.

3. Throat

Coloured blue, the Throat chakra denotes the ability to communicate. This allows the individual to listen with compassion and speak with a clear purpose.

If this chakra gets blocked or misaligned, the person can have dental and oral health problems. Difficulty expressing what’s in one’s mind and speaking without thinking are also manifestations of a problem in this chakra.

4. Heart

Right in the Heart chakra is the energy for compassion, caring, love, and affection. This chakra comes with the colour green. Issues in this energy point can display as loneliness, feelings of isolation, insecurity, and inability to form beneficial relationships.

5. Solar Plexus

Located in the stomach area of the upper abdomen is the yellow-coloured Solar Plexus chakra. Because of its location, energy issues in this region can produce indigestion, heartburn, ulcers, and eating disorder. There can also be problems with one’s self-confidence and self-esteem.

6. Sacral

This chakra is often associated with creativity, pleasure, and sexuality. It provides the energy for driving our sense of self-worth.

Located in the pubic region, this orange-coloured chakra can result in a host of problems if there is misalignment or blockage. These can include urinary tract infections, sexual problem, and lower back pain, among others.

7. Root

The red-coloured Root chakra drives our physical identity. It is also that energy disk that makes us grounded in life, allowing us to achieve stability in our lives. Problems here can result in feelings of insecurity, arthritis, colon problems, and constipation.

Chakras, in simple words, are regions of energy in the human body. Misalignment or blockage in the efficient flow of these energy points can lead to a host of physical, mental, social, spiritual, sexual, and emotional problems.